Hello World

Hello World

My Journey to Front-end Development Dream

This is my first blog post ever. I have thought about blogging in the past but did not know how to get started. After reading Adrian Twarog's post about why every developer should have a blog, it got me inspired to start one. Here is the link to the post adriantwarog.com/programmers-that-dont-blog.. He explained that this site Hashnode made it very easy and that it was a blog space made for developers.

I am super excited to start my blogging journey and to share and document my journey to becoming a self-taught front-end developer. I decided a year ago that I was not happy with my current career in supply chain management and since I have always had a passion for technology and computers, I thought that it would be a perfect field to get into. After taking some in-person classes and online classes for IT help desk and computer networking I realized that I enjoyed it more as a hobby to help my friends and family with their PC issues but that I was getting bored of it.

Then one of my best friends Armando was learning mobile app development, what we just refer to as “coding”. It took a lot of convincing and nagging from him that I should get into it but I always felt that it was going to be very hard and only for math geniuses and super smart nerds. I am happy to say I was dead wrong! After doing some research and watching some youtube videos on “coding” I decided that building websites for people seemed super cool and fun to do. It was then that I found the first development teacher that I trusted and could relate with Brad Traversy on youtube Traversy Media.

After doing a couple of code-along sessions from his channel, I decided to pay for his HTML CSS popular Udemy course. I followed along with the course for a month and decided yes this is what I want to do. The problem was that like most people just getting into development I didn’t realize that just following tutorials and not practicing without them was going to get me nowhere.

I then made the mistake of watching a ton of different videos from different developer YouTubers on the same exact concepts and saw they all did the same things just a little differently and this frustrated me even more so I gave up with coding. After some soul searching and the realization that I went about it all wrong, I have decided to give it another shot and I want to document the entire journey. The good, the bad, and everything in between. That is what this blog is all about and I hope I can inspire and or help other people that are on the same self-taught career change path to their dream of being a professional developer.